SGA announces faculty award recipients and election results

This year’s faculty member of the year is English Professor Loretta Holloway, staff member of the year is Kevin Long, note-taking coordinater for CASA, and administrator of the year is Director of First-Year Programs Ben Trapanick.

They were selected in the SGA student elections on Tuesday, April 14.

Holloway said she is “really surprised and honored” by the award.

“It’s nice to be recognized. You’re always working, and it feels like it’s not noticed. So, I have to say a huge thank you to the students, and it’s really nice to have this acknowledgement.”

Holloway said she starts and participates in other activities on campus because “I think it’s important to see students not just in class.”

Creating an open, common place for students to go was an important accomplishment to her, along with encouraging students to study abroad.

“The thing that I’m most proud of as a faculty member is the increase of traffic in my office – trying to get students, particularly freshmen, to come to office hours and to make students feel like they can come.”

She added this being her last year as a professor before going into her new job as vice president of enrollment and student development made this award that much more meaningful.

Long received the support staff award. A 2014 alumn of FSU, Long said he is grateful to the support he has received from everyone at CASA.

“This award is humbling, and definitely validates that I am in the right field. I have a renewed sense of energy and desire to collaborate with FSU’s support staff, faculty and administration to continue helping our community thrive.”

Trapanick is this year’s recipient of the administrator of the year award. He was grateful for the award and said, “I was recognized for my efforts for being the director of First-Year Programs.”

New class officers

The class officers for 2016 are: President Caitlin Murray, Vice President Sarah Cowdell, Treasurer Carolyn Mase and Secretary Daniel Costello.

The class officers for 2017 are: President Kaylee Brazell, Vice President Joseph T. Manozzi, Treasurer Allie Carol and Secretary Dan Laravee.

The class officers for 2018 are: President Brian Leonard, Vice President Jackie Carlson, Treasurer Kristen Hoey and Secretary Alexandra Brower.

The senators for the class of 2018 are: Dayna Marchant, Jackie Carlson and Bridget Green.

New SGA e-Board members sworn in

SGA sworn in the new senate and e-Board for the next school year at the beginning of their meeting Tuesday, April 21. Next year’s e-Board includes six new members, with Daniel Costello returning for his second year on e-Board as the new president.

The new SGA e-Board members are: President Costello, Vice President Ezequiel DeLeon, Secretary Dayna Marchant, SATF Treasurer Patrick O’Connor, Student Trustee Fernando Rodriguez, Class and Club Treasurer Brian Leonard and Social Events Coordinator Jack Capello.

Costello said he is excited to “go forward and build upon some of the initiatives and the progress that has already been made,” and to work with the new e-Board. “We’ve got some fresh perspectives, and I’m the old veteran.”

The newly elected members of e-Board are excited to participate more in SGA. DeLeon, next year’s vice president, said he wants to work on a more “intimate level” with organizations and have a deeper insight into FSU culture.

Marchant said she looks forward to being secretary and to be able to be “a bigger voice for my peers.” Rodriguez aims to do the same as student trustee, calling the position “a blessing” that prompts him to be a better student advocate between SGA and administration.

Capello, the new social events coordinator, and Leonard, class and club treasurer, hope to involve FSU in fun and creative ways. Capello said he hopes to get students more involved through events such as blood drives and retreats, and Leonard said he wants to plan different, more creative fundraisers.

O’Connor, next year’s SATF treasurer, like everyone else besides Costello, is new to e-Board. He summed up the feelings of this new e-Board, saying, “I’m just really excited to be able to get together with this great group of people and just work to make this campus a better place.”

Class of 2016 President Caitln Murray is excited to plan for her senior year. “I can’t wait to start planning senior week and working with the great officers that were also elected,” she said. “It’s going to make my senior year a ton better.”

Kaylee Brazell, president of the class of 2017, also said she looks forward to the upcoming year. “My plans for the next year are to work with my fellow class officers to plan a lot of fundraisers and make an effort to unite our class. I really hope to fundraise as much as possible.”

Jackie Carlson was re-elected as the freshmen class’s vice president, and said she is “beyond thrilled.

“Being a class officer has been such a fulfilling experience. …Since this past year was more about building our class’s identity at Framingham, I’m hoping we can do a lot more fundraisers and gain more class pride.”